January 1st – New Years Day

Standard

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language And next year’s words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning. ~T.S. Eliot

Today is New Years Day. Who decided that the 1st of January would be New Years Day? After all, our orbit around the sun is not a straight line – New Year could justifiably be the 1st of August, had we so desired. Julius Caesar reshaped the calendar in 46BC to have the New Year begin on January. January is named after the roman god Janus, god of gates, doors, time, beginnings and transitions.

I love New Years: from my house the night before I can hear the crackling of fireworks and the less tangible sound of hope. I can hear change as everyone stands together, united in the idea of the beginning of a new year, of hope, of change, of opportunity. I thought I’d start this blog by celebrating this day of hope. These are my new years resolutions.

 

  1. This Blog.

Everyday for the next 365 days, I will find a way to celebrate this year. It’s a manifestation of my real resolution, which is to find a public outlet for my creativity. I’m picking a holiday for each day of the year and finding some way, whether it be big or small, to celebrate. I’m sourcing these excuses for celebration from the website http://www.holidaysforeveryday.com/ . I’m not sure of the credibility of this website, but hey, when its an excuse to celebrate life, who really cares?

2. Random Acts of Kindness

 This moment arrived at a good time: On New Years eve, I was working and I served a man who, to be honest, once I had finished serving him I wasn’t sad to see him go. He wanted to be talkative, and I wanted to do my job. But I saw as he was leaving he walked towards one of those electronic moving car rides they have at stores for children. There stood a parent and a child, and the parent was fishing around in their wallet, clearly looking for a coin so that the child could go on the ride. He clearly didn’t know the pair at all, but this man takes the coin I had just given him in change and gives it to the parent, for the child to use. He had no reason to do this, but he did it anyway, and I felt a more than a little bad for brushing him off, because he was such a nice person. There were many times in 2012 where I could have said a kind word or done something nice and then didn’t, and this year I want to change that.

 

Sometimes people brush New Years Resolutions off as something that is bound to fail anyway, but those are the pessimists. Give it a go, you might surprise yourself. No one will get anywhere in life unless they try.

 

Today, is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one. ~ Brad Paisley.

 

Leave a Reply

