January 11 – Thank you Day!

Standard

If you’re reading this blog, you have access to a computer, you probably live in a developed country and have enough spare time and money to spend some time leisurely on the internet. Already you have so much to be thankful for. We’re always told that we have so much to be thankful for, and we really do. Today is International Thank You Day – a day to say thank you. For the big things, and for the small.

What do I have to be thankful for? Lots.

Thank you to my friends. First and foremost, I am so thankful and lucky to have a group of friends who are supportive and accepting of my weirdness. Who are amazingly quirky, extravagant, fun and not afraid of failure or embarrassment. They are boss.

Thank you to Emily Rodda, for teaching me to love the written word. The very first series of books I ever read was her series “Deltora Quest”. I was about seven years old, and the magical and dangerous adventures of Lief, Barda and Jasmine initiated my love for books. If I hadn’t come across them, I might have simply grown to hate books under the influence of school reading (Schools do many wonderful things, but choosing good books for children is not one of them.).

Thank you to KickthePJ for pushing me out there. I was quite hesitant in writing anything and putting it out there in the big, wide, and often scary world. His videos inspire and entertain, and this one particularly hit a chord.

“If you’re too scared to begin creating things, then you are doomed to never create anything.” – KickthePJ

The Video: I’m Not Scared by KickthePJ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8h6tQDenLUY
It’s a simple video, but it was a push in the right direction. Even if this blog sucks, and no one ever reads it, it doesn’t matter. Because it’s something.

“If you want to make great stuff? You can’t – until you’ve made good stuff. You want to make good stuff? You can’t – until you’ve made…alright stuff.” – KickthePJ

And on a similar note thank you to everyone who has ever pushed me to be more than I thought I could be. Your actions are invaluable.

Thank you to my country Australia! It’s a big thing to be able to live in a country where you can be however you want to be. It’s a place where everyone has equal rights, and I am so lucky (Ok, almost everyone. The issue of gay marriage has a way to go, but I’m hopeful that we will get there soon.). The people are friendly and it is a place where I can feel safe (Again, there are some exceptions…but still, it’s pretty decent.).

Thank you to anyone in my life who has ever taught me in some way – the impressions you have made is unimaginable and fantastic. Knowledge is power.

Imagination is more important than knowledge, so thank you to all the people out there who create and inspire. The list is long and beautiful but written in bold permanent marker are some more prominent names such as Ben Elton, Florence Welch, KickthePJ, each and every member of Cirque Du Soleil and everyone involved in the creation of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Thank you to whoever created the pure joy that is peanut m&ms. (This person probably wouldn’t be on here if my metabolism wasn’t so good – m&ms are bloody addictive).

And of course thank you to my parents, who haven’t done such a bad job of raising me as they probably think they have.

I highly encourage you to write a list of things yourself – you’ll thank me for it, I promise it will make you feel good.

~ Darcierae.

Leave a Reply

