February 13 – Get a Different Name Day

Standard

Happy Get a Different Name Day! Now, don’t get me wrong, I quite like my name. It’s a little unusual and has a nice ring to it. But sometimes….well, it can be quite a hassle. My name, “Darcie” is usually spelt “Darcy”. And by usually , I mean I have never seen it spelt any other way, excluding my own name, than “Darcy”. Consequently, on just about every piece of paper ever, my name has initially been spelt wrong. 

Also, in case you haven’t gathered by the photos I’ve put up, I am in fact female. Although spelling it with an i.e. makes it feminine, the general consensus seems to be that my name is one that is traditional bestowed upon males. More than once I have introduced myself to someone I have had zero previous encounters with, only to have the first thing they say to me be “You can’t have that name. Darcie is a boys name.” You know what they say about first impressions… 

So, if I could give myself a different name? Perhaps Rae, my middle name, as I quite like the ring of that too, although it certainly wouldn’t help with the spelling problem. I’m also fond of the names Bryarly, Zelda and Sam for no reason whatsoever, and of Marlo, because that was the name my parents might have chosen for me, had I not been blessed with a lifetime of infinite misspellings. 
What name would you give yourself?

~ Marlo 

Leave a Reply

