April 6 – National Love Our Children Day

Video

I have a confession, dear internet. How most people see babies: “Awwww, it’s so cute.”. How I see babies: “Oh dear God I’m going to break it or make it cry please please please don’t leave me alone with it…” Aaaaaaand the same is true with children up until about the age of 10. But today is Love Our Children Day, and even I have a soft spot. While I don’t have children of my own (it would be rather concerning if I did, given my age) I assist teach them in a skill-based sport and it’s really nice to see them endeavour and improve. An important part of loving the children of today I feel, is to let them dream and to not wrap them up in bubble wrap and restrict them to what is proper and expected. To encourage them to try new things. To teach them and to let them experiment with this wonderful thing called life and to dream. Which is why I’ve linked this video with today, and definitely not because I’ve had a long day and don’t particularly feel like researching and writing. I would never do that. I’m fully dedicated.

~ Darcie Rae

Leave a Reply

