April 15 – Take a Wild Guess Day

Standard

While I’m not doubting the awesome outcomes of well thought out plans (indeed, amazing journeys are often only possible with some planning) today is a day to celebrate wild guesses, hunches, spur of the moment decisions, taking chances and just going with something, even if you don’t have a very good idea about what it going to happen. 

My favourite little restaurant was a result of a wild guess. Well, the restaurant wasn’t a result of a wild guess, but my going there was. Hadn’t heard anything good about it, wasn’t suggested to me by other people, but one day I was passing there with a couple of friends and we decided we’d take a chance and have dinner there. A most excellent decision. (If you  live on the Gold Coast, the restaurant is Yummy Dumplings, 中文 北方 饺子 [fun fact that doesn’t actually translate to yummy dumplings, rather “northern chinese dumplings”]  and it’s in the little complex of restaurants just across from Robina Town Centre, it’s just the nicest and the cutest.

Many amazing things that I now love are a result of taking a chance: my favourite musical artist, my unhealthy obsession with peanut m&ms (I can’t decide if that was a good chance I took, considering my levels of consumption there), going to a music concert on a whim, participating for the first time in my favourite sports…most things are a result of looking at something you don’t know much about and taking a wild guess at thinking the outcome might be pleasant and just going with it . Of course, there are wild guesses that go horribly wrong. I have plenty examples of this including: going up to the art gallery in a city over an hours train ride away…and the city getting evacuated due to intense flooding (getting nice and cosy with strangers on that train ride out), guessing it wouldn’t rain, guessing it the stairs weren’t that slippery, trying cherry coke, trying cherry lollies, trying yet another cherry flavoured thing despite all previous cherry-flavoured experiences indicating that it would probably be a bad idea…and many, many more. However, the good far outweighs the bad and on this day I encourage you to take a wild guess! Try something new, and hopefully something good will come out of it. 

~ Darcie Rae

Leave a Reply

