September 17 – National Apple Dumpling Day

Standard

When I hear the word “dumpling” I think of the chinese kind. Filled with meat or vegetables…but certainly not commonly filled with apples…of all the days I thought I would learn something new from, this certainly wasn’t one of them. North-eastern Americans can be thanked for the apple dumpling, which looks amazing. My mouth is literally watering looking at all the pictures of them online, and I am so unbelievably keen to make them. They look like this: 

Image

http://onehungrymama.com/2010/11/recipe-apple-dumplings/

You’re probably laughing at my food ignorance behind your computer screen…but if your not, here’s a recipe that looks pretty simple: http://www.bestrecipes.com.au/recipe/golden-syrup-apple-dumplings-L6111.html

~ Darcie Rae

Leave a Reply

